NOHTARAM NODNOL EHT

The boss has gone away for Easter and the sun has turned to snow. It can mean only one thing – the final countdown to the London Marathon has begun.

Last year I put word out that a few of us were going to be running the course of the marathon backwards. Starting at 4am by Big Ben, the closest you can get to the finish line what with all the TV equipment, we would head to Greenwich for 8am. I would then turn around and do it all again. Seven of us made it that morning, a good number I thought given the time of day, but I sensed disappointment in some un-named quarters that there weren’t more.

This year that should all be different since I’m not in charge. Before he took off for the Barkley 100 in the US, James Adams put out the word that on the 4th chime of Big Ben we’d be off. I’ve seen a list of 20 names so far, but since there are no ballots for this one, we’ll be taking entry applications up until about 3.59am. So, if you would like to come and join us, you know where we’ll be.

This will be third outing on this route, but I’m more excited about it that I have been any race in a while. I suspect that it has as much to do with the cafe in Greenwich where we’re likely to end up as we did back in 2009. At 9am, while runners streamed past clutching isotonic drinks as they made their way to the Greenwich start line, Alex and I gorged on bacon and eggs. Dressed in shorts and T-shirts more than one person had that ‘what-on-earth-are-they-doing?’ look on their face. Because every training manual puts the fry-up in the bottom drawer. We raised a cup of tea and wished them well.

With 19 days left to go it’s probably a bit late to get in any more serious miles, especially since Easter eggs are just around the corner. Instead I’ll go straight into tapering which includes the tried and tested routine of sipping lots of beer – for the carbohydrates, of course. So, if you’re passing through Camden in the next couple of weeks, give me a buzz. There are plenty of good pubs round here, and who knows – I might even stand you a pint.

About Robin Harvie

I have been running marathons for ten years. But when I couldn't around faster than 3 hours 12 minutes, I decided to see how far I could run before I keeled over. Turns out pretty far. In September 2009 I took on the Spartathlon - 152 miles from Athens to Sparta. Non stop. Why We Run is about that journey and about why we run at all.
This entry was posted in London Marathon and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NOHTARAM NODNOL EHT

  1. David says:

    Hi Robin are you actually in this years London Marathon – I’m not but I’d love to join you for the reverse run. Cheers David

Leave a Reply

