Back to basics

I wrote my last post from the sedate riverside suburb of Westchester in Up-state New York as the rain poured down as I counted down the days to getting home and seeing the boy and Mrs H. The final event I was scheduled for and the last long run out in the mid-west in Dayton, Ohio never happened as the plane out of New York was delayed and I instead caught a shuttle flight to Washington before running across the airport and begging to get on an earlier flight home. It was to be my last gasp of exertion for some time.

Six hours to load, four at the other end

Not for want of trying. I had run nearly every day in the US and was starting to get back into shape, but the day after I landed in London we moved house, and in a moment of genius I packed my running shoes into the van last and promptly forgot about them. For all the Gatorade in the world I could not tell you where they are.

This seemed like the perfect excuse to invest in a pair of Nike Free 3.0, which I had been recommended by a friend in New York on my penultimate day. It came with the advice to buy a size larger as they would be quite snug across the arch of the foot. He was not wrong, but here is the dilemma. There is a good inch of space at the front of the shoe that does nothing. I have no problem looking like a penguin while I run, but on the first time out they were slapping against the ground as though I was running across the beach in flippers.

Snug flippers

Having got used to them (I still haven’t found the other pair) I have two weeks to knuckle down before Dean Karnazes arrives in the UK to promote his book Run! 26.2 Stories of Blisters and Bliss. After he leads us on a steady canter around Hyde Park I’m going to be interviewing him at the Serpentine Running Club. I suspect that this will be my highlight of the year, so if you have any questions that you want to put to him, let me know.

About Robin Harvie

I have been running marathons for ten years. But when I couldn't around faster than 3 hours 12 minutes, I decided to see how far I could run before I keeled over. Turns out pretty far. In September 2009 I took on the Spartathlon - 152 miles from Athens to Sparta. Non stop. Why We Run is about that journey and about why we run at all.
This entry was posted in dean karnazes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Back to basics

  1. Useful tip – own more than one pair of running shoes and always carry in hand luggage.
    I would ask Dean if he thinks Kilian Jornet (young Catalan runner) is too young to do ultras and if he thinks he will be the next star or just burn out? Have fun

  2. Jon says:

    I’m hopefully interviewing Dean too – waiting on confirmation from The North Face right now, but hoping to speak to him after book signing in Covent Garden.

  3. Jon says:

    Interviewed him today – he’s just about the world’s nicest man, isn’t he?

Leave a Reply

