Squeaky bum time

Am I the only one sitting in the sunshine feeling slightly nervous about the London Marathon? April weather is not supposed to be this good, and if the sun stays out on Sunday, it could all get a bit tasty. The question is: at this late stage, what preparation will make any difference?

With five days to go, I have started to properly climb up the walls, and I know I should just be sitting tight, waiting for the big day. But partly because of the sun, I’ve taken to doing my six miles every other day wearing a plastic bin-liner underneath my running top. The result looks rather impressive, as every time I get home I look like I’ve been dragged out of the river. Even if the temperature doesn’t hit 20 degrees on Sunday, it’s all good preparation since it gets the body working without putting too much pressure on the legs. That said, there is still a growing part of me that knows that 50 miles around London would be much easier in the rain…

The book is launched on Thursday. The Saturday Telegraph Magazine did a good number on it over the weekend, and I’ll be on Robert Elms’s BBC London Show at lunchtime today. There’ll also be an interview in the Evening Standard tomorrow and Daily Mail on Saturday. I’ve been using the interviews to get as many people to Big Ben at 4am on Sunday for the start of the Double London Marathon – so far we’ve got about 20 people turning up, so if you’re not busy, you’ll know where to find us.

Meanwhile, the team at John Murray publishers have put together a short film on Why We Run.

About Robin Harvie

I have been running marathons for ten years. But when I couldn't around faster than 3 hours 12 minutes, I decided to see how far I could run before I keeled over. Turns out pretty far. In September 2009 I took on the Spartathlon - 152 miles from Athens to Sparta. Non stop. Why We Run is about that journey and about why we run at all.
This entry was posted in London Marathon and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Squeaky bum time

  1. Pingback: Double London Marathon – Job done | WHY WE RUN

Leave a Reply

