Matching my son, pound for pound

Approaching his tenth week, Mrs H decided that it was time to weigh the boy again, since he was suggested at his last visit to the doctor that he was a touch on the light side and in need of beefing up.

The kitchen scales are now too small to hold even him, so it was a question of me getting on the bathroom scales with him and doing the maths. He now weighs a stately 5kg. Hardly Big Daddy territory, but no rake either, which is a relief.

What came as a shock though was that he has now put on almost exactly the same weight that I have over the same period. When I came back from the Spartathlon I weighed 82kg, and have been putting on weight ever since. Not that it hasn’t been fun, but as I look at the boy plumped up in his rocker I can’t help but wonder just how I could fit – quite literally – all of his weight inside of me.

So, the time has come to turn the tide. There are six months until the London Marathon, for which I have serious plans – soon to be announced – and carrying that extra baggage isn’t going to do me any favours. My brother-in-law took on the Dukan Diet, with dramatic results. However, the only diet I have ever tried is lentils and fish, and it left me bored stiff within a month. It worked though.

The perfect diet that lets us eat (and drink) as we want is, of course, the holy grail, but if anyone has suggestions for how to combine a lot of miles with a diet that doesn’t end in tears, I would be most receptive.

About Robin Harvie

I have been running marathons for ten years. But when I couldn't around faster than 3 hours 12 minutes, I decided to see how far I could run before I keeled over. Turns out pretty far. In September 2009 I took on the Spartathlon - 152 miles from Athens to Sparta. Non stop. Why We Run is about that journey and about why we run at all.
This entry was posted in Fatherhood, London Marathon and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Matching my son, pound for pound

  1. nigel harvie says:

    Dukon works in France because they are all on strike/demo/torching car tyres. The adrenalin it off like nothing else. Mon medecin says so.

  2. Eva says:

    Wow I love your blog, I gonna take some time out to read it properly. Looking forward to it!

  3. Pingback: New Year’s Resolution abandoned already in favour of beer and pizza | WHY WE RUN

Leave a Reply

