Mrs H goes on materni-tea leave

Mrs H's Mad Hatter tea party

Mrs H is now enjoying her first few days of maternity leave, having signed off on Thursday with the largest cake stand I have ever seen. She is now busy nesting at home, moving between the Swiss ball, the laptop and the swimming pool.

In the meantime I have become increasingly twitchy. I have taken to calling impromptu meetings at work to distract myself from fidgeting, although there are still three weeks to go. I have also started bringing my iPhone with me on my lunchtime runs – just in case.

The best distraction I have found so far is the Tour de France on ITV4. For two weeks now Phil Liggett – who was commentating in 1986 when I would take my bike out around the block and pretend to be Djamolidine Abdoujaparov, the nuttiest of the Green Jersey winner – has talked us through the pain of nearly 4,000 kilometres of cycling.

This year’s Tour has been exceptionally vicious – cobbles, rain, 13% gradient, and it looks like it could be a repeat of the year when, after three weeks, Greg LeMond beat Laurent Fignon by only 8 seconds.

But the Tour ends next Sunday. What do I do then? The IKEA trip has been done, the furniture rearranged, and after five months we have finally put our Henry Moore (print) up. We even bought a family car. But there is only so much tea a man can drink, and only so many holes to drill in the wall.

Share on Facebook

About Robin Harvie

I have been running marathons for ten years. But when I couldn't around faster than 3 hours 12 minutes, I decided to see how far I could run before I keeled over. Turns out pretty far. In September 2009 I took on the Spartathlon - 152 miles from Athens to Sparta. Non stop. Why We Run is about that journey and about why we run at all.
This entry was posted in Fatherhood and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mrs H goes on materni-tea leave

  1. John Self says:

    Hey, enjoy this dead time. You’ll be getting precious little of it for the next few years…

  2. Pingback: The woman in the red cardigan | WHY WE RUN

Leave a Reply

